A Summary of the Chakras

Covens Spell Casters  ► Articles  ► A Summary of the Chakras
Rated 4/5 Stars
A brief summary of the chakras: what they are, where they are, and what they can do for you.

Chakras are nodules along the energy channel of the body. The seven most commonly cited are:


Sahasrara, the Crown Chakra - represented by a violet-colored, thousand-petaled lotus; associated with pure consciousness and unity with the Source

Ajna, the Brow Chakra (or 'third eye') - represented by an indigo-colored, two-petaled lotus; associated with access to magical energies and intuition

Vishuddha, the Throat Chakra - represented by a blue-colored, sixteen-petaled lotus; associated with communication, emotional expression, and maturity

Anahata, the Heart Chakra - represented by a green-colored, twelve-petaled lotus; associated with passion, devotion, and love for ourselves and others

Manipura, the Solar Plexus Chakra - represented by a yellow-colored, ten-petaled lotus; the emotional center of the body

Swadhisthana, the Sacral Chakra - represented by an orange-colored, six-petaled lotus; the magical center of the body

Muladhara, the Root Chakra - represented by a red-colored, four-petaled lotus; associated with instinct, raw emotional energy and basic human potentiality


Each of the seven chakras has a bija mantra, which is Sanskrit for seed sound. These are simple vowels you can chant during meditation to access the corresponding chakra. The seven chakras are also associated with the seven notes in the musical scale.

Chakra Seed Sound Musical Note
Crown * AH (pronounced OOH) B
Third Eye * AUM (pronounced OOHM) A
Throat HAM (pronounced YAAHM) G
Heart YAM (pronounced HAAHM) F
Solar Plexus RAM (pronounced RUUHM) E
Sacral VAM (pronounced FVAAHM) D
Root LAM (pronounced LUUHM) C

* Some citations say the crown seed sound is AUM, and the third eye seed sound is SHAM.


Our physical body's energy highway is located in the spine, running upward from the tailbone to the brainstem. Citations differ on exactly where the chakras correspond on the spine. Below lists the most commonly cited areas.

The spine is divided into four parts, from bottom to top: the sacral curve, the lumbar curve, the thoracic curve and the cervical curve. Each of the vertebrae on the spine have a letter and number corresponding to the curve they're in.

The root chakra is at the tailbone, just below the S5 vertebra.
The sacral chakra is on the sacrum, near the S1 vertebra.
The solar plexus chakra is on the top of the lumbar curve, between the L2 and L1 vertebrae.
The heart chakra is at the center of the thoracic curve, on the Th7 vertebra.
The throat chakra is on the bottom of the cervical curve, between the C7 and C6 vertebrae.
The third eye chakra is on the back of the skull.
The crown chakra is on the top of the skull.

Practicing meditation with seed sound mantras helps to unlock the chakras and the features of our being they correspond to.

Added to on Nov 12, 2012
Last edited on Jul 01, 2019
Part of the Spell Casters Library.


Comments are open to members. Join today and be part of the largest pagan / new age community online.

May 13, 2021
That your for this!

* All information on this page is provided by the coven or person named and the contents of this page is not mediated by the administrators of the website. Please use common sense when following any directions on this page. Do not ingest anything which does not seem safe. If you suspect the content of this page to be intentionally deceiving please contact us immediately.