AstridSpirit's Profile

Member Info
Name: AstridSpirit
Birthday: Jan 26
Location: Mud Pie Farms (in the Broom Closet)
Gender: Female
Last Seen: Sun, 11 Jan 2015

Membership: Member

Facebook: view

Personal Bio
Hello all! I am relatively new to Wicca/Witch Craft/Paganism and joined this site to receive knowledge, insight and to meet new like-minded people. If I had to 'classify' myself, I guess I'd say that I am Eclectic Witch with Celtic leanings... :D I haven't have settled on anything just yet; and I might not ever! Empathic issues have dogged me all of my life. I'd really like to meet a couple of people who have mastered their empathic abilities to help me and teach me how to do so myself. I sense the emotions and pain of others. With those who are closest to me, I can also feel their aches and pains/physical issues. I've only been studying for a little over 2 years so I still consider myself a lil bitty newbie but I am very anxious to learn and I've already received many gifts from the Path. I hope to learn more everyday! Current areas of Wiccan study: spell writing, spell casting, candle magic, herbs/gathering my own herbs, meditation and divination. I am not interested in "fluff" or role playing. This is my religion and I take it seriously. I am beginning my Pagan library and would love any book suggestions the more seasoned members have for me. I am the mother of 4 pretty freakin' fabulous kids and wife to a wonderful big-burly-biker man. I truly believe that he is my soul mate and I can't wait to spend the rest of my life with him! He IS the other half of me... My career is not outside the home because I have several health issues; fibro, diabetes, Sjogren's syndrome, Lupus, etc. Currently, I am making my own line of bath products for men and women but it's still in 'development'. Veterinary Medicine was my all time career love, so I love animals. We have 2 cats and 2 dogs. However, if my husband would let me, I'd have pretty much 2 of anything - guinea pigs, hedgehogs, lizards, birds, goats, emu, elephants, and so on! I love horses and have a 5 acre 'farm' that we've dubbed Mud Pie Farms, but we've yet to put up suitable fencing so that I can have a horse of my very own again. My good qualities: I have a good (if a bit warped) sense of humor, usually wake up happy and love to laugh. I loved school and love to learn. I read... a lot, both fiction and non-fiction. When I make friends, I tend to keep them for life. I listen very well and I've been told that I give good advice. I love to craft - cross stitch, sewing, paper crafts, making home-made gifts. My poorer qualities: I don't tend to forgive easily, have a hard time accepting constructive criticism, and I have a really hard time taking care of myself the same way that I take care of my family (i.e. forcing myself to exercise and eat the way I know that I should and taking time for myself). These are all things that I'm trying very hard to work on. Here's some more "about me" kind of stuff: Given Name: Micah Gender: Female (despite the name) Age: 38 and holding Political Affiliation: total friggin' liberal Democrat Things I Won't Discuss: my political affiliation, your political affiliation and politics in general Things I Love to Discuss: my kids, medicine, spells, horses, books and movie/TV, magic, divination and herbalism Currently Studying: correspondences of all kinds and divination College Major: Bachelor of Arts in Biological Anthropology Pet Peeves: rude people, poor grammar, closed-minded people Favorite Food: Ice Cream or anything I didn't have to cook myself LOL Favorite Music: pretty much anything - pop, rock, country, classical, blue grass, new age Favorite Authors: Stephen King, Dean Koontz, Billie Letts, Isaac Asimov, Nora Roberts, Terry Pratchet, Neil Gaiman, Julie Kenner Favorite Books: The Stand, The Talisman, Where The Heart Is, Disc World Series, Carpe Demon, Three Sisters Island Trilogy, Circle Trilogy Favorite Soft Drink: Coca-Cola, diet or otherwise Things I Collect: pictures of cats, precious and semi-precious crystals/gemstones, Halloween decorations, movies What Would I Do for a Klondike Bar: Damn. Near. Anything... LOL Favorite Movies/TV: these change almost every time I see a new one, American Horror Story, Orange is the New Black, Stardust, Forrest Gump, Holes, and many, many more Favorite Quotes: "Be the change you want to see in the world" ~ Gandhi "Unless someone like you cares a whole awful lot, nothing is going to get better. It's not." ~ Dr. Seuss "No matter what people tell you, words and ideas can change the world." ~ Robin Williams "You are never too old to set a new goal or dream a new dream." ~ C.S. Lewis "Try to be a rainbow in someone's cloud." ~ Maya Angelou Thanks for taking the time to read my little bio. I am pretty much an open book so if anyone has any questions for me, then shoot! Friends are important in any culture, so I hope to make many... ~ AstridSpirit (AKA Myka Ranell) PS: No, I don't want to cheat. No, I'm not looking for a lil on the side. No, you wouldn't be the "best I've ever had". So if those are your reasons for contacting me, just quit while you're ahead, please. I'm here to be a part of a Pagan Community. End of story.