The Phases of the Moon

Covens Spell Casters  ► Articles  ► The Phases of the Moon - Their uses in Magick.

In my own practice there are 5 important phases of the Moon:

  • The New Moon, is when the moon has just made its appearance at the sky and is used to cast spells about new beginnings and things you want to grow in time.
  • The Waxing Moon, is when the moon is getting bigger and it is used to cast spells in order to attract things to your life.
  • The Full Moon, is when the moon is at its fullest and has its full power on. It's a neutral phase for me but I'd rarely recommend casting any kind of hex on it. Its power lasts 3 days. The day of the full moon, the day before, and the day after.
  • The Waning Moon, is when the moon is getting smaller and it is used to cast spells that will banish things out of your life, cleansings and also hexes.
  • The Dark Moon, is when the moon isn't visible at all at the sky and it's the perfect time to do hardcore banishing, cleansing and some really nasty hexes. The Dark Moon is sacred to the goddess Hekate.

Added to on Dec 09, 2020
Last edited on Mar 31, 2022
Part of the Spell Casters Library.


Comments are open to members. Join today and be part of the largest pagan / new age community online.

May 12, 2021
It needs an edit. I'd love to see more related to magical practice listed along with the moon phases.

* All information on this page is provided by the coven or person named and the contents of this page is not mediated by the administrators of the website. Please use common sense when following any directions on this page. Do not ingest anything which does not seem safe. If you suspect the content of this page to be intentionally deceiving please contact us immediately.