Beginners Guide to Magick Chapter. 2

Covens Spell Casters  ► Articles  ► Beginners Guide to Magick Chapter. 2
Rated 4/5 Stars
Discussing the watch towers and what colors mean in magick

The Watch Towers: You call the watch towers before you cast your spell or do your ritual. The watch towers have a few other names such as: Quarters, Guardians, and Watchers. Each of them have their own elements which are Earth(north), Air(east), Fire(south) and Water(west). These are the guardians that protect you while casting your spell. In Christian influenced magic traditions, they are simply called Archangels. (Uriel, Raphael, Michael, and Gabriel.)

Colors: Each color means something. This will help you in picking out your candles when using them in spells.

  • White: Purity,cleansing,bringing in any good energy,contact with higher self and spiritual helpers, aura-healing, truth seeking, consecration, spiritual enlightenment, protection against negativity, breaking curses, exorcism, meditation, divination, inspiration, and clairvoyance. 
  • Yellow: Elemental air(east quarter). Deities for trade, travel, knowledge and magick. Vitality, change, progress, contact, communication, and trade. Confidence, joy, cheerfulness, learning, knowledge, mental clarity, concentration, speaking and writing and visualization.
  • Gold: Sun-deities, solar energies, and masculine energy. Abundant self confidence, creativity, perfection, financial richness, success in investments, luxury, worldly power, magickal power, overcoming bad habits and addictions.
  • Orange: New beginnings, innocence, good luck and good fortune. charm, kindness, encouragement, stimulation, optimism, success, abundance, prosperity, feast and celebration, achieving business goals, investments, success in legal matters.
  • Copper/Bronze: Love-goddesses, love and passion, positive relationships in love, friendship in business, career promotions, successful negotiations.
  • Red: Elemental fire(south quarter), deities of love, passion, sexuality and war. Courage, will-power, determination, speed, assertively, aggression, masculinity, independence, physical strength, sports, competition, conflicts, health, sexual attraction and potency, love and passion. Revenge.
  • Pink: Love-goddesses, softness and tenderness, romance, caring, nurturing, youth, peace, friendship, femininity, emotional love, emotional healing.
  • Green: Elemental earth(north quarter)and elemental water. Nature and fertility deities, Mother goddesses. Nature, fertility, growth, rejuvenation, recovery, healing, harvest and abundance, prosperity, harmony, balance, peace, hope, home, plants and animals.
  • Blue: Elemental water(west quarter). Deities of the sea and sky, truth and wisdom. Peace and tranquility, calmness, truth, wisdom, justice, counsel, guidance, understanding and patience, loyalty and honor, sincerity, devotion, healing, femininity, prophetic dreams, protection during sleep, astral projection. 
  • Silver: Moon-goddesses, female energy, cycles, rebirth, reincarnation, healing of hormonal imbalances, emotional stability, remove or neutralize negativity, intuition, dreams, psychic abilities and psychic workings.
  • Black: Deities of the Underworld. Repel and banish evil and negativity, protection, breaking free from bad habits and addictions, deep meditation, opens up deep unconscious levels. Breaking bonds(breaking up a relationship)

Added to on Sep 28, 2013
Last edited on Dec 11, 2021
Part of the Spell Casters Library.


Comments are open to members. Join today and be part of the largest pagan / new age community online.

Jul 27, 2019
This is very helpful and informative

* All information on this page is provided by the coven or person named and the contents of this page is not mediated by the administrators of the website. Please use common sense when following any directions on this page. Do not ingest anything which does not seem safe. If you suspect the content of this page to be intentionally deceiving please contact us immediately.