About the Faerie Star

[ INFO ]
[admin] Petrarca : Welcome to You must be a logged in member to use the live chat feature. Sign up for free now.

[ INFO ]

[ SHOP ]
SpellsOfMagic now has an online store, offering over 9000 wiccan, pagan and occult items. Check it out.
Waning Crescent Moon
Waning Crescent
46% Full
Forums -> General Info -> About the Faerie Star

About the Faerie Star
Post # 1
The septagram, or Faerie Star, is used instead of, or with, the Pentagram by many Faerie and Celtic-based traditions. The seven points represent the Sun, the Forest (or Wood), the Sea, Magic, the Moon, the Wind, and Connection (or Spirit).

Point 1: The Sun

This point closely mirrors the pentagram?s element of Fire (creative, passionate, energetic, enthusiastic, courageous, determined, daring, and faithful, but also proud, selfish, restless, jealous, angry, hateful, stubborn, greedy, and resentful), but is more focused on the role of the Sun as the procreator of life, the spark of regeneration, and the divine spark that burns within each of us. Like the pentacle, one of the elemental spirits is the Salamander, but also included are the Dragon and the Phoenix.

Colors: Gold, Orange, Yellow, Red, Pink, Purple, Crimson

Gemstones: Honey Calcite, Sunstone, Fire Opal, Fire Agate, Ruby, Obsidian, Tiger Eye, Carnelian, Garnet, Amber, Bloodstone, Citrine, Diamond, Botswana Agate, Unakite

Point 2: The Forest/Wood

This point somewhat mirrors the pentagram?s element of Earth (practical, endurance, persevering, skill/ability, knowledgeable, reliable, punctual, stable, and wise), but concentrates on the life, fertility, powers of abundance and generosity of the Forest (undeveloped, untamed) environment. Most fae feel a deep connection to Forests and Woods in general, with trees considered as kin, cousins and brothers. The fae see deep secrets hidden in the branches of trees, and understand the power and nature of trees and woods. Unlike the pentacle?s elemental spirit of the Gnome (which lives underground), here we find the Forest elemental spirits of Satyrs, Fauns, Elves and Dryads.

Colors: Green, Brown, Black, Olive, Tan, Russet, Citrine, Gold

Gemstones: Moss Agate, Amber, Salt Rock, Granite, Holy Stone, Picture Jasper, Emerald, Jade, Malachite, Hematite, Amazonite, Jet, Lodestone, Peridot, Serpentine, Turquoise, Labradorite, Black/Banded Agate, Chrysocolla, Red Jasper, Kyanite, Rhodonite, Smoky Quartz

Point 3: The Sea

This point closely mirrors the pentagram?s element of Water (loving, imaginative, compassionate, forgiving, sensitive, easygoing, modest and flowing, but also moody, fantastical, without boundaries, indifferent, depressed and unstable), but concentrates specifically on the Sea (which is Water combined with Earth (salt)). The sea drives the weather of the world and, as the birthplace of life on earth, its waters represent the waters within the womb and the blood that flows through our veins. It is from the Sea that dreams, intuition and emotions arise, and we find the Sea elemental spirits of Mermaids, Selkies, Oreads, and Naiads. The Undines of the pentagram are not included as they are the fresh Water elemental spirits of forest pools and waterfalls.

Colors: Sea Green, Aqua, Turquoise, Silver, Grey, Blue, Green, Indigo, Purple

Gemstones: Aquamarine, Ocean Jasper, Pearl, Moonstone, River Pebble, Amethyst, Fluorite, Geodes, Beryl, Lapis Lazuli, Limestone, Rose Quartz, Shells/Abalone, Sodalite, Albite, Granite, Larimar, Mother of Pearl

Point 4: Magic

There is no corresponding point with the pentagram. The fae are believed to be not just users of Magic, but Magic in and of themselves, which includes everything from the simple but profound Magic of a snowflake to the more complex but natural Magic of crossing through the veil, immortality, shape-shifting, granting boons and wishes, cursing and hexing, and such. It is not a matter of understanding Magic, but of living Magic. There are no elemental spirits associated with this point.

Colors: Purple

Gemstones: Amethyst, Fluorite, Apatite, Azurite, Charoite, Copper, Corundum, Desert Rose, Geodes, Hawk?s Eye/Falcon?s Eye, Herkimer Diamonds, Infinite (Light Green Serpentine), Iolite, Snowflake Obsidian, Rutilated Quartz, Sugalite, Tanzanite, Tourmaline

Point 5: The Moon

There is no corresponding point with the pentagram. Here the Moon represents the Goddess, the bringer of light and giver of life to the Sun God. She lights the dark night skies and creates the tides. The Moon governs the Goddess mysteries, women?s health, the home, children, prophetic dreams, reincarnation, sleep, and emotional healing. When she is waxing, she governs growth and sensuality, including increasing things such as good luck, money, and love. When she is full, she governs emotions and the psychic, such as divination. When she is waning, she governs the spiritual, the underworld, death and transformation, including banishing, binding and eliminating things such as negativity, bad habits, disease, and obstacles. There are no elemental spirits associated with this point.

Colors: Silver, Blue, White, Gray, Tan

Gemstones: Moonstone, Labradorite, Selenite, Silver, Opal, Pearl, Carnelian, Milky Quartz, Amber

Point 6: The Wind

This point somewhat mirrors the pentagram?s element of Air (logic, justice, discrimination, wonder, imagination, laughter, music, joy, humor, communication, intelligence, intuition, and diligence, but also thoughtless, judgmental, critical, impulsive, frivolous, boastful, gullible, gossipy, spendthrift, untruthful, selfish, fickle, and inattentive). However, Wind as an elemental encompasses constant movement, while Air is both movement and stillness. From light, playful breezes to cruel, punishing hurricanes, Wind elementals are never still. We find here not only the Air elemental of the Sylphs, but also the Wind elementals of the Gryphons, Gremlins, and Pegasus.

Colors: Yellow, Light Grey, White, Ice Blue, Sky Blue, Violet, Pastels, Clear, White, Blue

Gemstones: Blue Lace Agate, Celestite, Lapis Lazuli, Topaz, Sapphire, Chalcedony, Amethyst, Citrine, Mica, Pumice, Larimar, Prehnite, Rose Quartz

Point 7: Connection/Spirit

This point closely mirrors the pentagram?s element of Spirit (unification, change, transformation, alchemy, divinity, infinity, timelessness, and spacelessness). This is the point where heaven and earth, spirit and matter are conjoined, where Nature, the fae and ourselves are the embodiment of divinity. Nature and the fae are our greatest spiritual teachers, showing us how we are all interconnected and how accessible deity is?in the world around us and within us. Along with the pentagram?s elemental spirit of Angels, here we also find the elemental spirit of the Sphinx.

Colors: Iridescent and Brilliant White, Black, Clear, Violet/Purple

Gemstones: Rhodochrosite, Clear Quartz, Diamond, Jet, Black Onyx, Amethyst, Angelite, Apophyllite, Chiastolite (Fairy Cross), Chrysoberyl, Chrysoprase, Elestial, Kunzite, Lepidolite, Moldavite, Petalite/Castorite, Phenacite, Tanzanite

An alternative set of definitions rests upon use of the Faerie or Elven Star as a gateway to the Otherworld; each point of the star is one of the entrances to the Faerie Realm, a pathway, or the 7 rays of manifestation of the Higher Self, as follows:

1st point - Power, Personal Will and Determination
2nd point - Unconditional Love, Wisdom and Growth
3rd point - Knowledge and Intelligence
4th point - Harmony and Tranquility
5th point - Powers of Mind and Science
6th point - Devotion and Honesty
7th point - Magic

The points blend with each other, nurturing and joining us as one with the Universe, bestowing personal and spiritual transformation.
Login or Signup to reply to this post.


© 2017
All Rights Reserved
This has been an SoM Entertainment Production
For entertainment purposes only